Author Topic: What Calculations must be considered when building a Windmill  (Read 1659 times)

student

What Calculations must be considered when building a Windmill
« on: September 25, 2004, 01:04:00 PM »
I need to know all the calculations that must be considered before building a WInd gen. Any websites that will be helpful are most appreciated. Thanks. Remember, I am a student with no experience in this at all so as simple as possible will be great. I have a deadline to meet. Thanks again. Please add all the formulas also.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2004, 01:04:00 PM by (unknown) »

windstuffnow

« Last Edit: September 25, 2004, 07:55:24 PM by windstuffnow »
Windstuff Ed

devoncloud

Re: What Calculations must be considered
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2004, 01:03:29 AM »
Wow, you got a lot of work to do then, How soon is your deadline?  Ok, first some matterials you will need (to get started)...  Also please keep in mind that these are just suggestions, you can use other devises for everything I am putting in here, it is just that these are pretty cheap and easy to find.

1. Neo magnets.  See wondermagnet.com.
  2. a car hub (see pull it yourself junkyard for best deal)
  3. The rotor to the same hub, possibly two rotors depending on if you are going to make your design a dual rotor hub or a single rotor with laminations.(see pull it yourself junkyard for best deal).  If you have access to a machine shop(you will probably need access to one of these anyway) you can have some rotors cut out of 1/4 inch steel plates.  
  4. Magnet wire (you will have to know the size you need, so for that you will need to know how to do the calculations, and I do not have the time to show you all the formulas, sorry.  Search the site, they are all over the place but you can find them.(See electrical supply or magnet wire company)
  5.  angle iron or some other metal to make your frame out of (see metal shop or construction site for scraps)