Author Topic: Grid Tie 2 Off Grid Help  (Read 2008 times)

1968jeepman

Grid Tie 2 Off Grid Help
« on: June 09, 2008, 01:37:29 AM »
I purchased an Aerolite 10kw 240v grid tie turbine.  I however have no grid to tie to!   My land is too from the nearest utility pole.  I have read the otherpower site many times, and know this question has been asked before, but can't seem to find it.  Can I go about generating electricity with this turbine with out having the grid.  How would I go about it?  I am not afraid to get my hands dirty, I am an industrial arts teacher, and this would be great for the kids to take in!

Any help would be great

Thanks For Your Time

« Last Edit: June 09, 2008, 01:37:29 AM by (unknown) »

dbcollen

Re: Grid Tie 2 Off Grid Help
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2008, 07:57:20 PM »
You could make your own "grid", Outback inverters are bidirectional, and don't mind power getting pushed back into them, they will just charge the batteries. There is however no control over the voltage they will charge the batteries too, so you will need a diversion load which you can trigger some SSRs (solid state relays) with the AUX relay built into the inverters.

To accomodate a 10K turbine you would need a Quad stack of VFX 3648 inverters, 2 X240 autotransformers, and a sizeable battery bank, and 4 2500-3000 watt loads.

If it were my setup I would use 4 seperate 240 volt AC load banks (because that is your input from the wind) each triggered by a 40 amp AC SSR, and set the Aux relays .2 volts apart, so you have a sequential trigger of the 4 loads. I have played around with making a mini grid here with my dual VFX3648s and a Soliel2000 grid tie inverter, they play well together.

Dustin

« Last Edit: June 08, 2008, 07:57:20 PM by dbcollen »

wdyasq

« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2008, 09:28:05 PM »
Look at "Power-One" inverters/website.

Ron

« Last Edit: June 08, 2008, 09:28:05 PM by wdyasq »
"I like the Honey, but kill the bees"

Ungrounded Lightning Rod

• SuperHero Member