Author Topic: 5--Bladed Turbine..... Why not??  (Read 1988 times)

sahlein

5--Bladed Turbine..... Why not??
« on: October 25, 2005, 08:46:04 PM »
Hi All,

I am an early-retired industrial electrician.

I have done maintenance in several large production facilities, so I am comfortable

with building almost anything.

My selected site for my retirement home is going to be in West Texas,

very close to some commercial wind turbine installations.

My home will be "scratch-built" with close attention paid to reduced

energy consumption.

I plan to use propane for most of my energy needs during the construction phase.

WHY do I not see more turbines with 5 or more blades??

I need something that will work in low winds 4 to 8 mph.  There will be no problem to build 2 wind generators on my site.

Any ideas??

Joe
« Last Edit: October 25, 2005, 08:46:04 PM by (unknown) »

Hank

Re: 5--Bladed Turbine..... Why not??
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2005, 03:37:19 PM »
Joe,

I'll try to field your question.

Generally, the more blades you have the less efficient the system is. A one bladed system will be the most efficient however balance will be an insurmountable problem. Two bladed turbines solve the balance problem however you will get shudder as the system yaws. Three bladed systems overcome both the balance problem and shudder but at a slight cost of efficiency therefore that is why you see a lot of these.

Also, the fewer blades you have the faster the turbine will spin. More blades on the other hand will give you less rpm but more torque.

In a low wind site (like yours appear to be) you may want to use a rotor with more blades but you may have to "gear it up" at the generator head to get the rpm necessary to get usable power (also a function of rotor diameter).

Old water pumping windmills used a lot of blades as they needed torque and not high rpm to pump water.

Hope I'm not off to much on this and hope others chime in.

Hank