Author Topic: power ratings  (Read 1186 times)

Maveth

power ratings
« on: November 29, 2005, 05:09:00 AM »
I am new to the wind turbines and have been pricing things out.  I am attempting to generate 31,000 kWh/yr.  I saw some 12kW  models that claim to generate the proper amount but what I don't understand is what factors they are using to state the end output.  I am aware that wind is variable so I averaged 50% operation.  Say 180 days or 4320hrs times 12kW should be 51840kWh, but their site says 32297kwh  and the price 20k plus 4k plus 8k = 32Grand!  that's a buck per kWh!  It would be 16 years before the thing paid for itself!  By that time all sorts of things would undoubtedly be failing! So that's why I ended up here, there's gotta be a cheaper/better way!  I am going to try to learn how to do this from scratch,   --  Ha,  and maybe find a way to get them into many peoples hands for half these prices (God willing . . . I'm dumber than I look!)  But to start off, I really don't understand how this company rated this machine at 12kW and ends up with those annual figures . . . knowing me I am missing something.  Any body have a moment?  Thanks in advance!
« Last Edit: November 29, 2005, 05:09:00 AM by (unknown) »

amiklic1

Re: power ratings
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2005, 11:28:15 PM »