Author Topic: Wheel Chair Motors  (Read 5774 times)

JohnnyF

Wheel Chair Motors
« on: January 23, 2006, 08:29:11 PM »
I had the opportunity and picked up two wheel chair motors for free.  Actually the whole chair.  Both motors work when 24 volts are applied but the controller was bad so I got the chair before it hit the trash.

Has anyone built a generator out of one of these motors or done any testing to see if they would work?  What little reading I have done has pointed to the possibility of using DC motors.

I am new to all this so I am not even a newbee yet, just a new.  Or maybe a bee.

Maybe I could do some unscientific testing myself.  I figure it already has 4 wheels so maybe I could strap a couple of head lamps to it, wire in an amp meter and ride it down a big hill!!!  Would make a great video if nothing else.  I might need this chair after my testing!

Thoughts and experiences are always appreciated.

John

Swartz Creek, MI

« Last Edit: January 23, 2006, 08:29:11 PM by (unknown) »

coldspot

Re: Wheel Chair Motors
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2006, 02:01:23 PM »
yes, DC motors will make power when turned, also will run when given power.

So far I'm only at the minimill point with DC motors myself.

You will need a Diode to stop the power from flowing back to the motor when wind isn't blowing, (would then be a fan without Diode) lol.

Search the board, "Ametek" will yeld good info!

Welcome and GOOD Luck, (PS: You know the wind will stop when you raise ANY mill, 3 Days)!!! LOL Serious!

Ps: Again, I am looking for simular motors for a E_Bike.

« Last Edit: January 23, 2006, 02:01:23 PM by coldspot »
$0.02

asheets

« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2006, 02:45:53 PM »
I'd just fix the controller and resell the chair -- if you live in an area where you don't have to have a license to resell used medical gear, that is.  Probably worth a lot of $$$ -- or at least enough to get a few amteks or some neos...
« Last Edit: January 23, 2006, 02:45:53 PM by asheets »