Author Topic: A new commer Trying..  (Read 1025 times)

Instinctz

A new commer Trying..
« on: July 25, 2006, 02:29:14 AM »
Hey, well I am very new to all this alternative power.. but im experimenting.

I have just built a very simple and most likily uneffiecient 3 bladed prop for my up-comming generator.  I am just curios about after rectifing the power to DC if needed how do I begin to charge my battery bank?  Once the windmill is set up I will probably get about 4 deep cycle batt's from wall-mart or something in a 12v setup.  I will just bet lighting a set of lightbulbs (5-10) for this first experiment.  To see how often I will have to watch out for power drop outs.

I then plan on upgrading the windmill blades, increasing the height of tower, and all other low points of the system once I get a better understanding of how these systems work in a whole.

« Last Edit: July 25, 2006, 02:29:14 AM by (unknown) »

Titantornado

Re: A new commer Trying..
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2006, 09:47:00 PM »
Welcome to the board Instinctz.

Alright, well, there are really crude ways of doing it, (which are the most affordable) and advance methods via electronics. (which will cost you more, unless you are good with those kinds of things)

Let's look at the crude ways, since you're just getting into this.  From the recifier(s) you can connect directly to the battery.  There, done!   OK, not quite that easy.  You will, of course, have to play the part of the regulator.  This can either be done by disconnecting the generator once the batteries have charged. (and short the generator leads on the AC side of the rectifier(s) to stop it, and prevent it from freewheeling out of control)   Or, you can simply turn on and off various loads connected to the battery bank to regulate the voltage of the batteries.  (the windier it gets, the more loads you'd have to turn on)  Obviously, this would be demanding of you to constantly monitor the battery's charge, but it will work.