Author Topic: Chinese VS handmade blades?  (Read 2872 times)

welldog

Chinese VS handmade blades?
« on: July 07, 2008, 03:35:39 AM »
I have read on here that a few guys have used the purchased chinese blades with success and alot of guys have made blades from wood by hand.  What is the opinion of the people on the forum?  

The purchased blades may not be the highest quality but I would assume that if they are all made from the same mold that the weight and shape should be the same.  Being as I am new to woodworking,  That may be a real asset to me.  If home made is much better then I am willing to learn to carve if needed.  

The purchased ones on Ebay seem to be very reasonably priced. Am I wasting my money that should go for woodworking tools?

Thanks for the advice in advance.

Welldog

« Last Edit: July 07, 2008, 03:35:39 AM by (unknown) »

gotwind2

• ben[at]gotwind.org
    • Gotwind - The Renewable Energy Resource
Re: Chinese VS handmade blades?
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2008, 01:36:16 PM »
My experience with the Chinese blades supplied with the 500w turbine I bought were very good, I can only compare them to PVC blades however.

Make sure they are the more 'sculpted type' rather than the ones that just look like guttering, they are a lot quiter.

« Last Edit: July 07, 2008, 01:36:16 PM by gotwind2 »

gizmo

• The Back Shed
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2008, 03:36:28 PM »
We did some work on the fibreglass blades at TheBackShed. A few modifications can improve performance, and more importantly, reduce noise.

http://www.thebackshed.com/Windmill/articles/ChineseBlades.asp

Its also worth noting the mounting holes are starting to fail after a couple of years use, the fibreglass starts to break apart and you can end up loosing a blade.

Glenn

« Last Edit: July 07, 2008, 03:36:28 PM by gizmo »

electronbaby

• Windsine.org
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2008, 08:01:03 PM »
How much petroleum does it take to make fiberglass blades,....and ship them from china?