Author Topic: Cell phone tower inverter and transformer  (Read 1133 times)

(unknown)

Cell phone tower inverter and transformer
« on: July 31, 2004, 04:02:18 PM »
Someone gave me the following items that came from a cell phone tower: Lorain DC - AC Inverter (MODEL WAA302B), LaMarche Invertavolt (MODEL A5IE-1K-48V-A6),  Square D insulated single phase transformer (STYLE NO: 12551-12625-010). As a total newbie, can someone tell me if any of these items have potential for use in an eventual home power generation system? Excellent forum. Thanks in advance... Sunny in Houston
« Last Edit: July 31, 2004, 04:02:18 PM by (unknown) »

Ungrounded Lightning Rod

• SuperHero Member
Re: Cell phone tower inverter and transformer
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2004, 11:01:41 PM »
While I have no direct experience with those devices, I DO work for a manufacturer of networking equipment, and have dealt with telephone companies quite a bit in the past.  So I'll hazard a guess, based on my understanding of their mindset and procedures.

Any particular phonecall may be life-critical, and system failures can leave thousands without phone access - whether cell, landline, or what-have-you.  Then they get refunds, and there is a big stink.

So telephone equipment - even the stuff for the new-economy upstarts - is built to higher standards than mil spec.  "Five nines reliability" is minimum, and six nines is considered good.

Two inverters and a power transformer from a cell site?  You BET they'll be useful for a home power system.  I'm drooling at the thought.