Author Topic: Harbor Fright 45 W panels/ replacing the fuse in controller!  (Read 4367 times)

mixerman

Im new to Solar power, I just got a kit from Harbor freight, within 24 hours of putting it together I blew the fuse in the controller box, the instructions that came with the kit says get a shop to fix it. I think its 4 amps, it is a rather differt looking fuse than im used to seeing its incased in plastic and has wires soldered to it. I was wondering if anyone has replaced one of these? Is this a radio shack type replacement part? I dont see any danger in replacing this fuse but maybe im wrong!

mixerman

Moved to controls. Since it is about the controller.

« Last Edit: June 15, 2008, 07:50:24 PM by (unknown) »

jonas302

Re: Harbor Fright 45 W
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2008, 02:08:55 PM »
I think the general thought is the panels are ok but the controller is no good

google search the board for harbor frieght controller there is a lot fo comments on them

If you cant find the fuse and have enough wire crimp on some 1/4inch quick connects and use an automotive blade fuse

« Last Edit: June 15, 2008, 02:08:55 PM by (unknown) »

ghurd

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: HF 45 W panels/ replacing fuse in controller!
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2008, 05:37:40 PM »
"I dont see any danger in replacing this fuse but maybe im wrong!"

Fuses blow for a reason.  Even HF fuses.

The blown fuse is the symptom of a larger problem.  That is what fuses do, and why they are there.

Get a decent controller before you need a replacement controller, and replacement batteries.

G-

« Last Edit: June 15, 2008, 05:37:40 PM by (unknown) »
www.ghurd.info<<<-----Information on my Controller

mixerman

Re: Harbor Fright 45 W panels
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2008, 05:38:07 PM »
Upon looking closer there is a removable cover to get to the fuse
« Last Edit: June 15, 2008, 05:38:07 PM by (unknown) »

mixerman

Re: the reason why it blew
« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2008, 05:47:34 PM »