Author Topic: Amyone playing with a E-Mon (KWH Meter? need advice)  (Read 857 times)

sparkz

Amyone playing with a E-Mon (KWH Meter? need advice)
« on: May 21, 2005, 12:54:58 PM »
Hello Guys / Gals

As some might have read

I Was an Industrial Electrical Contractor (now ret.)

But as I shut down the corp. I happened to keep tons of goodies

I.e. Cable, Wire, switchgear, fuses, breakers, ect  and some real kewl stuff LOL

Please let me know if somebody needs something

Anyways

I was digging thru stuff and came across a E-Mon KWH meter for 3 phase

It can be config in a ton of ways I can recall it was a take down as a fork truck hit it and killed the LCD read out

I have the meter and the CTs for it

I was thinking that I would just replace the LCD (no biggie to do) and play with it

Any thoughts on how and what I can do to play with this?  I want to do a PV & wind system here but then thought I might use this meter for a test bed type equip.

Moreover, posb let others use it for a proving ground tool

Let me know what you all think and is anyone using one of these http://www.emon.com/html/kwh.html   this one is a E-MON  120/208 @ 200Amp (up to 400hz) - 4 wire wye connected systems mounted in a Hoffman 3R box but as the OE. Cut the box now its NEMA 1 ( Common 3 phase for comm.. buildings) ( it has a SN#89110456H) this unit is known to work until the day the knucklehead bumped it with the fork truck LOL and just needs the LCD soldered in ( now I need to find a LCD that will fit)  man I think this would be nice for a lot of stuff on the proving grounds and with that data link ( Cat 5 RJ-45 jack I could play with that given I find the progm. On the web))

IF YOU have this softwear please let me know.

But it also has a data link in side and it can be used for 1-phase systems I think as I read on the site

Let me know what ya think

In addition, in my looking I found a TON of copper with tin clad Buss bar like