Author Topic: Xantrex XW-6048 data logging  (Read 2188 times)

dlenox

• PowerDashboard monitoring/logging software for RE systems
Xantrex XW-6048 data logging
« on: July 23, 2008, 03:18:34 PM »
With the recent replacement of my mis-wired stator I am starting to get decent output from my 17' turbine.

With this I would like to implement some sort of data logging of data including the turbine output as well as inverter output/stats.

I have researched and found that the Xanbus on the inverter is essentially Canbus with an RJ45 connector, and have found some hardware suppliers that provide interface.

Does anyone know of any software that can work with Xanbus/Canbus interface? I have not found one, and did not see that Xantrex provides any data logging software either.  I saw some posts that said that previously Xantrex did have some software available for a previous inverter, but have not been able to locate this software.

I am a software developer and can create the software, but would rather not re-invent the wheel if anyone has any links to something suitable.

Dan Lenox

« Last Edit: July 23, 2008, 03:18:34 PM by (unknown) »

TomW

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: Xantrex XW-6048 data logging
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2008, 09:52:31 AM »
You don't say what OS you use or wish to use? Linux might be your OS for this?

I use a perl script on a Linksys "Slug" [thanks to many on IRC and IbedonC for getting the slug stuff going to start]to access my Outback Mate's serial bus and it is great once you bug out the communications. I log to flat files and process with awk / sed / perl / gnuplot to build a php webpages of current stats and historic data.

Anyway, when I was hunting down how to avoid M$ only supported software I saw some sourceforge.net projects involved with the SW series inverters. So the core info must be out there as open source. Outback publishes its serial communications protocols not sure of Xantrex tho.

Just from memory.

Good luck with it.

Tom

Tom