Author Topic: Solar MPPT <--> Wind MPPT - What's the difference?  (Read 12814 times)

(unknown)

Solar MPPT <--> Wind MPPT - What's the difference?
« on: February 14, 2010, 10:19:19 PM »
Hi All!

I'm a Mechanical Engineering student in India, and am working on building a Wind Turbine (aka Wind Mill) for generating electricity.

One important aspect in this (as you all know) is the MPPT.  I've found MPPTs for Solar drifting around in various parts of the internet, and I plan to take one and alter it.  Specifically, I'll start from this: http://www.microchip.com/stellent/idcplg?IdcService=SS_GET_PAGE&nodeId=1824&appnote=en536175

Reasons for choosing this as a base:

1. My college uses PICs rather exclusively.

2. I have some Electronics graduates on our team.

3. I've worked with PICs before. :)

4. Alterations are easy, and the circuitry (hopefully) involves simple, cheap components.

My basic design considerations are:

• Software Basis

• Monitoring only input and output voltage, and input current. (no feed-forward windspeed measurements, primarily because of added complexity, secondarily because our anemometer broke due to excess salt in the air here.  Also no RPM measurements unless deemed absolutely necessary.)

• Feeding into a Battery Bank, 12, 24, or perhaps even 48 volts.

• As generic as possible, to allow other people to adapt the design to any circumstance.

• To be released under GPL or similar license.  (Looks like we'll be the first!)

• Dummy load, and switching on dummy load for added protection during overspeeding.  (How do I detect overspeeding from V-I measurements?)

• Emergency indicator - some sort of buzzer or other device that would indicate emergencies!

Having not much experience with windmills, I would like to gather a list of items that would need to be incorporated into a Wind-specific MPPT, that are not there in the rather simple hill-climbing Solar-specific ones.