Author Topic: What to look for when searching for a PM motor?  (Read 4325 times)

unclebuckmjmp

What to look for when searching for a PM motor?
« on: April 29, 2010, 02:11:13 AM »
Hi, I've been to this site over the past year and I find it great to read. I'm new to this and I'd like to find out what to look for when searching for a PM motor? I have very little electrical background and looking for something simple to generate power at our hunt camp. Either wind or water will do. We have a small river by the camp and the rapid has a 15 foot drop on a 200 foot run. I have one of those treadmill motors also a Leeson 90V DC. Should I look for motors with lower voltage and RPMs. I've been on EBay looking for PM motors and seen a lot of different ones like DC servo motors and some AC. Any suggestion and Ideas would help me find something and what I can do with it. Thanks

Rover

Re: What to look for when searching for a PM motor?
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2010, 05:55:48 PM »
Hi, I've been to this site over the past year and I find it great to read. I'm new to this and I'd like to find out what to look for when searching for a PM motor? I have very little electrical background and looking for something simple to generate power at our hunt camp. Either wind or water will do. We have a small river by the camp and the rapid has a 15 foot drop on a 200 foot run. I have one of those treadmill motors also a Leeson 90V DC. Should I look for motors with lower voltage and RPMs. I've been on EBay looking for PM motors and seen a lot of different ones like DC servo motors and some AC. Any suggestion and Ideas would help me find something and what I can do with it. Thanks

Might want to give a little more info. "something simple to generate power at out hunt camp" can mean a lot of different things for different people ... from powering a light in a tent, to having a permanent frostfree refrigerator in a cabin structure.