Author Topic: Axial Flux theory questions  (Read 12651 times)

PhillT

Axial Flux theory questions
« on: June 01, 2010, 12:39:10 AM »
I have been tossing ideas around in my head to try to find a reasonably simple solution to the inherent inefficiencies (discussed here:- http://www.6pie.com/coilsandmagneticflux.php) of the Piggot type Axial Flux alternator.  It seems that the orientation of the coils is the cause of these inefficiencies, and I wonder if re-arranging the orientation might address these problems.
I am completely new to this subject, so don't be too harsh if I have missed or misunderstood some basic principal that makes this un-workable ;D

What I propose is:-
Instead of laying the oval shaped coils flat in the stator disk, what if they were wound as long rectangles,
and laid with one long side against one face of the rotor disk, and the other long side laid flat against the other face of the rotor disk?
The coils would be wound so that their finished width was about the same as the width of the magnets used.

In this design, assuming  magnet rotors with "N" & S" poles opposite one another, with a rotor on each side of the stator,
 one half of a given coil would be passed by a "N" at the same time the other side of that coil would be passed by "S".
This would eliminate entirely the problem of reversing induced currents as the magnetic field approaches, passes over, then exits the two sides of a coil laid flat in the stator.

If this is not clear, what I propose is to basically rotate the coils 90 degrees to the way they are commonly laid now, and squash them into rectangular shapes to keep the stator disk reasonably thin.

Something like this:-
459-0" alt="" class="bbc_img" />

Flux

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: Axial Flux theory questions
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2010, 01:58:59 AM »
I am on holiday in a few minutes so this has to be brief.