Author Topic: TSR for wind turbine  (Read 16510 times)

kcchow

TSR for wind turbine
« on: June 11, 2010, 11:48:39 PM »
Hi,

I'm a newbie in wind turbine, may I know how the TSR can affect wind turbine's performance? What is the range of TSR for the wind turbine? How to improve it? Is it the same for Horizontal Axis Wind Turbine (HAWT) and Vertical Axis Wind Turbine (VAWT)?

Beside that, seems like the HAWT are more commonly use (correct me if I'm wrong), may I know what is the main reason of this?

Thanks!

ChrisOlson

• SuperHero Member
Re: TSR for wind turbine
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2010, 03:33:26 PM »
The Tip Speed Ratio is a function of the airfoil used on the rotor blades.  It can't be "improved", as such.  High TSR rotors typically spin at high speed and have no torque to speak of.  Low TSR rotors don't spin as fast and have more torque.  Low TSR rotors are better for low winds, high TSR rotors perform best in high winds. The generator can be designed for either type.

Vertical axis turbines usually run at very low TSR (2 or less), the typical range for horizontal axis machines is 4-8.
--
Chris

wpowokal

• Far North Queensland (FNQ) Australia
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2010, 07:58:51 PM »
Have a read of this article..............http://www.thebackshed.com/windmill/articles/DonBrown1.asp

allan
A gentleman is man who can disagree without being disagreeable.

wpowokal

• Far North Queensland (FNQ) Australia
« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2010, 12:25:42 AM »
This is also a rather in depth paper.

allan
A gentleman is man who can disagree without being disagreeable.

Ungrounded Lightning Rod

• SuperHero Member
« Reply #4 on: June 14, 2010, 04:21:48 PM »
Horizontal wind turbines (of the "propeller" type) tend to be designed with an operating TSR of 6 or thereabouts.