Author Topic: Power Usage Calculations  (Read 1251 times)

zander1976

Power Usage Calculations
« on: July 18, 2010, 01:52:05 PM »
Hello,

I feel a little stupid for asking this but I am very new to renewable power. I am trying to read the data sheets from a solar company:

The sheet says:
Nominal Max Power at STC: 235W
Optimum Operating Voltage: 29.8V
Optimum Operating Current: 7.90A
Open Circuit Voltage: 36.9V
Short Circuit Current: 8.48A

Is that per minute, day, year? How much power is that per day assuming i have 5 hours of sun?
Optimum volts and currents I assume is when the sun is perfectly on the cell at the right temperature right?
What is Open voltage and short current?

I want to start out by feeding power into the grid. Assuming conditions were perfect how do I figure out how much A/C power I would feed to my power company?
Do I have to invert the power before feeding it to the power company ( I assume this to be true )?

I know my current power usage. Its about 700Kw per month. That number is going to go up since I want to switch to electric heat and on demand electric hot water. Space isn't really an issue for solar and wind power generation so I want to go all electric if possible and not use any natural gas.

This is a lot of questions I know. I have searched for many of them but I can't seem to find the right calculations I am looking for.
Thanks a lot for all your help.
Ben

zander1976

Re: Power Usage Calculations
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2010, 01:56:47 PM »
Also what is the most efficient voltage to convert DC power to AC power?

zander1976

« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2010, 02:00:04 PM »
Series = More voltage = Connecting Positive to negative in series
Parallel = More amps = Connecting Positive to positive in series.

Why is that the case? I would think that if you connect positive to negative then all the electrons would make it to the positive post and have completed there journey.

dnix71

• SuperHero Member