Author Topic: Wire Gauge  (Read 5276 times)

zander1976

Wire Gauge
« on: August 23, 2010, 11:44:59 PM »
Hello Everybody,

Sorry if this seems like a stupid question but I don't feel like burning my house down. I have no experience at all with wiring so sizes or gauge are concerning me. I have done some looking and really don't know anything about wires. So I will get straight to the questions.

For AC No 14 gauge wire are ok for 15 amp circuits and No 12 gauge cable is good for 20 amp circuits. Does that make sense? The smaller the wire the more current it can handle?

For DC, what gauge should I use for 12, 24 or 48 volt solar setups. I guess its more related to the amps so 3x6 solar cells at 18v produce what 3 amps each? Thats a lot of amps, wait never-mind they are connected in series so the amps will stay at 3amps and the volts go up. I get it. So I need a cable size to handle 3 to 4 amps give or take. Is bigger cable better like should I look for cable that is bigger in cases were I am unsure like my wind generating ( 40 VDC ametec nominal power that I can't see the amps on ).

So the cables coming out of my 18 volt 3 amp solar panel are made to handle 3 amps. When I connect 2 of them in parallel do I need to make sure that it can now handle a 6 amp circuit? Or do I just have my solar panels all leading to a main guide wire that  can handle higher amps. What do you do if you aren't sure how many you are going to have in parallel?

Code: [Select]
Panels           [] [] []
Small wire        |  |  |
Main wire         =======
                        ||

Inverter

Do I just put blocking diodes on the end of the small cables so power only runs down the line built to handle large currents.

Thanks,
Ben
« Last Edit: August 23, 2010, 11:46:30 PM by zander1976 »

zander1976

Re: Wire Gauge
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2010, 11:49:02 PM »