Author Topic: First time hydro  (Read 5561 times)

dblais

First time hydro
« on: November 28, 2010, 10:44:18 PM »
Hi,

I'm new in this world. I read a lot this week  ;D...  At first I wanted to make a wind turbine (small wind of 7-12mph), but I think with my little creek is better to make a hydro system?

I have a small creek that I have takken mesure.
Width 3.75 ft.
Depth 4 inches (0.33 feet)
Head: 3.3 feet (dam to do)
An object that floats a distance of 30 feet in 14 seconds.

3.75f * 0.33f * 30f/14s = 2.68 cubic feet per second
1 cubic foot = 7.481 gallons / second

7.481 * 2.68 = 20.24 gallons / s or 1202.3 gallons / minute

For my 1200 gpm is a lot of water for this small creek, i dont believe, is that correct?

1202.3gpm * 3.3head *.18 = 404.86 watt possible..

Cut in half to be safe (200w)

According to the width of the creek and the little head, I think the best thing to do is an overshot waterwheel or better backshot? I Will do a PMA generator 2 disk of 12 magnet or 1 disk of 24 magnet. Small magnet of (disk 1 * 3 / 8 inch), maybe 24 volt.

Do you have any suggestion about the best structure (turbine, waterwheel, other) size, generator ?

Here the creek
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S3mvIZMAzC4

Thank you!
David

dblais

Re: First time hydro
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2010, 07:16:45 PM »
Here a picture of the stream.

Do you have any idea?

12AX7

« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2010, 09:00:23 PM »
Hi..

Looks like a nice stream,  but COLD.

Lots of snow but most of the stream is still open and flowing.   Does it flow year round or will it freeze over?

dblais

« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2010, 09:19:25 PM »
I think it will be ok for the stream because there is a good flow. But i think it can be a problem if i use a big waterwheel... Do you think something like the picohydro "http://www.best-solar-energy.com/renewable/pico-hydro-water-turbines-can-generate-300-or-500-w-of-power/" can be better for the winter?

12AX7