Author Topic: What to do with 36 shattered PV-cells?  (Read 3830 times)

walp

What to do with 36 shattered PV-cells?
« on: February 07, 2011, 06:42:17 AM »
Hi! Im new at this side of the Fieldlines-forum and have just bought (what may be the stupidest purchase of the year so far) 36 shattered PV-cells rated at about 130W/18V. for 185$ incl shipping\handling\instructions.

They are said to be refurbished with silicone\duct tape, whatever that means. They are monocristalline as far as I know.

Will they deteriorate beyond recognition or may it actually be worth building a isolated wooden\PMMA-frame to them?

I´ll get the parcel in a couple of days and need some advice before testing the performance and\or leakage(?)

\walp

SteveCH

Re: What to do with 36 shattered PV-cells?
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2011, 10:25:18 AM »
What do you mean by shattered? That the glass covers on the pv panels are cracked?

Is this a single panel with 36 cells? Or is it a whole lot of panels that are all broken?
« Last Edit: February 07, 2011, 10:30:15 AM by SteveCH »

walp

« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2011, 11:42:07 AM »
The original panel from which they came from had a broken glass cover, and the one who salvaged them probably had to break small edges of each and every cell to be able to sell them to me (no pun intended).

So I have in a very naive manner bought 36 pieces of small 0.16 x 0.16 m (6"x6") panels,(P_peak 4W) each shattered in their corners, with approximately 5% - 10% loss of area for each cell, but they are said to be refurbished with some material.

As long as I get my parcel with cells I'm happy,  would be kinda sad to loose 185$, even if that isn't that much of a big deal, cause I just sold half a ton of sugar worth $1000 with a $200 profit ;)

Is there any problem with PV-cells that have lost some edge pieces except for area related power loss..? Like leakage, short circuit tendencies or any other thing that I have missed?

/walp

Harold in CR