Author Topic: Was considering Wind - Now considering Hydro  (Read 5473 times)

Tapsnap

Was considering Wind - Now considering Hydro
« on: March 02, 2011, 01:33:10 PM »
Hi, I'm very new to all this so please forgive my dumb questions. I bought the "Homebrew Wind power"  book and read it. Very interesting but realistically, looking at my site, I think the amount of power I could generate would not be worth it. I'm now looking at the stream that runs through my property. It runs about 150 yards across my property and it's about 200 feet from my house.  On average, it's about 10 feet across and about 7" deep. It drops about 5 feet from one side of the yard to the other. The pictures show it just as the snow is beginning to melt. In a week or two this will be a blasting torrent that will wash away a truck. I have also seen this river dry up completely twice in the summer over the 10 years I have lived here, but mostly it kind of looks like the photos. I was looking at the site a few minutes ago and really the biggest drop occurs over about 75 yards. It might not be worth the extra digging, penstock and wire to cover the full length of my property. It drops about 4 feet within this range
Can anyone tel,l just by looking at this site, if it would be possible to draw 1KW or more from it, at least the way is is flowing right now. Can anyone give me links to posts that calculate the flow and penstock diameter I would need to run? Any other advise?

« Last Edit: March 02, 2011, 01:59:32 PM by Tapsnap »

hydrosun

Re: Was considering Wind - Now considering Hydro
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2011, 01:23:42 AM »