Author Topic: 10 footer questions  (Read 4974 times)

gsw999

• kernelpower Ltd
10 footer questions
« on: March 08, 2011, 07:36:05 PM »
I have built a 10 footer and have a few questions ( please bear with me im new to this )

firstly , its a 24volt model with 140 turns 16awg wire , 24 magnets 2x1x.5" , it has metal blades on at the moment which are about 3feet long , I know this isnt ideal and Iam in the process of trying to build some wooden blades which i will get done soon.

The turbine seems to work well and furls a little bit once left to run free, havent had any real winds here yet but tomorrow expecting 25mph wids so looking forward to that.

I have the three phases set up to a single rectifier which outputs to 2 dc wires.

i dont have a charge controller connected at the moment as i am running from some old lorry batteries that have seen better days, anyway when i connect up 2 batteries it runs at 26 -29volts , 4 batteries 48-55 volts, when the turbine is allowed to run free ( not ideal i know ) the turbine puts out anywhere from 60 to 100 volts, my main question is, if it was connected to a grid tie inverter would I be "taking advantage " of the increase of power that the turbine as its not "held back" by the voltage of the batteries.

also when the turbine is connected to 24 volts is it the job of big blades to crank it round harder so its charging with more amps  , on the subject of amps I tried checking the amps with my 10$ multimeter set to "10A" but didnt get a reading.

I guess I just need to do more research to understand better whats going on.

Thanks

Gav

Flux

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: 10 footer questions
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2011, 03:11:13 AM »
I think you might have a steep learning curve to come. Some of your questions are a bit vague, such as the bit about the rectifier. Unless you have a 3 phase bridge I suspect you have it connected single phase.