Author Topic: I want to power my fridge or freezer with solar and batteries  (Read 37899 times)

cujet

• my website
I live in South Florida in a rural home. I've built my own solar panels and dabble in all things energy related. I'm a capable machinist and fabricator.

However, this is a very specific task. I have a modern fridge and a small chest freezer (5 cu/ft). I'd like to power one or both with solar. Simply because I can. But also so I don't have to worry as much about my food going bad when I'm away if the power goes out. I can afford to purchase the components and I'd like to consider both a "best" setup and a "budget" setup.

I've determined the energy usage on both the fridge and the freezer. The fridge consumes a maximum of 1.37KWH per day. The freezer, much less, at around 250 watt/hours per day.

So, with this in mind, I'd like to purchase some reliable panels, an inverter (or combo charger) and possibly batteries. I do get plenty of 1.5 year old, used 24 volt, 40 AH SLA aircraft  batteries. Obviously, the aircraft batteries are not ideal, and not new. So there will be inefficiencies there that could be overcome by more batteries and panels. Or, I could simply purchase some quality batteries.

I'd like suggestions on what products to choose. There really is a stunning array to pick from.

If possible, I'd like the system to charge the batteries from the grid too. But, maybe that is simply an external charger.

My plan is to simply install the inverter in the garage and run a dedicated 115V line to the fridge, above the current outlet. That way, I can pick between the two. Simple, clean and easy.

Thanks for the input!

ghurd

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: I want to power my fridge or freezer with solar and batteries
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2011, 11:58:43 AM »
"Best" and "Budget" are worlds appart on this one.

Best goes to a very expensive inverter.  PSW, probably with either 24 or 48V input.  The inverter may cost more than the required solar panels.