Author Topic: Bicycle Generator Project  (Read 30387 times)

TomW

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: Bicycle Generator Project
« Reply #66 on: May 28, 2011, 09:45:43 AM »
Mr. G- or anyone else,
 Could you please help this noob and elaborate a little more on this statement.

"Side note:  The eBay sellers who brag about how many pipe wrenches the OUTSIDE of their PM DC motor can hold up obviously do not know what they are talking about.
G-"

I think I understand, but I have been wrong before ;D

Well, you pay all that money for the flux (magnets)

If ANY flux is exiting the frame / case / motor then that flux is wasted.

It should be directing that flux through the coils for efficient use of the magnetic material.

Just from here.

Tom

klsmurf

• "Damn it Jim, I'm a carpenter, not an electrican"
« Reply #67 on: May 28, 2011, 10:21:46 AM »
Thanks Tom, That's what I thought. I'm still happy with it for what I paid. (Bid not buy-it-now) It is all good fun!
" A man's got to know his limitations " ------ Harry Callahan

jaysicle

« Reply #68 on: May 28, 2011, 12:19:45 PM »
Because it is already built, physically check to see if any substantial flux is leaking!

See if a large paper clip will hang on the back of the rotor.
If it will not, or just barely holds it up, then there is no flux leakage worth considering.
If a small screwdiver will not stick to the back, not sure there is enough flux leakage to worry about.
G-

Thanks for going to that length to show this.

I did give the paper clip a shot a couple of weeks ago, after bringing the idea up with a friend. 
First a fine toothed jigsaw blade, then a paper clip actually. Both fell off when placed on the back of the assembly.

But because of your response, I just tried the clip in the open ends. There appears to be some leakage at those open sides.
With a clip balanced on the stator edge, about 2" away from magnets it dances quite a bit.