Author Topic: HomeMade Wind Turbine Help  (Read 10484 times)

kill_seth

HomeMade Wind Turbine Help
« on: July 01, 2011, 04:00:20 PM »
Hello everyone,
I am new to everything about Wind Energy so please have patience with me.
I have a few questions concerning my idea and motor I have.

First off let me explain what I am trying to do.

I live in Texas and it's always hot, so my air conditioner costs the most money to run.
I want to hook up a wind turbine to just my air conditioner on the roof of my house.
After doing some research, I still can't seem to grasps the concept of things.

I first thought all I needed to do was:

Wind Turbine---DC Motor---Battery---Air Conditioner

Then I found out I needed to do this:

Wind Turbine---DC Motor--Charge Controller--Battery--DC to AC Inverter--Air Conditioner

Let me know if that is correct. Also, if there is any tutorials located on this site please point me in the right direction.
Another thing I may need is the correct controller to get, I'm pretty sure the ac runs at 100 to 250.
I also have two 12V batteries that came with the wheelchair, but I might buy 2 deep cycle marine batteries to bank.

Now let me tell you what motor I currently have.

Model: Motion #73464
Volts: 24VDC
RPM: 3000

There is a constant 5-10MPH wind daily where I live and we get 30-60MPH winds all the time.
I pulled the motor out of an old wheelchair I had in my shed. I hooked it up and tested it and can confirm it puts out energy.
I already have a design in mind, the only problem is hooking the motor up to the battery.
I would also like to have the power go directly to the air conditioner when the battery is full, if that is possible.
Any advice would be great, thanks!
« Last Edit: July 01, 2011, 04:04:29 PM by kill_seth »

wpowokal

• Far North Queensland (FNQ) Australia
Re: HomeMade Wind Turbine Help
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2011, 06:49:00 PM »
First welcome.