Author Topic: Hi every 1, planning a huuuuge motor conversion... Guidance sought.  (Read 4641 times)

therapy

Hey all, very nice forum you have here, I have had a look at some of the alternators guys have built up and I must say it's quite impressive.
I'm not sure if this is the right spot for this, so perhaps a mod could move it to the right spot if need be.

So, I am down under, in good ol' 'Stralia, I'm a qualified electrician, and worked as a mechanic before that.
What brings me here is my wish to convert a massive 3 phase, 240 / 415v 57 horsepower motor into a reasonably sized generator.

Obviously, I could just hook a diesel motor up, drive it a bit over synchronous speed, and it would generate, but this is a half assed attempt, and a motor of this size should make a powerful genny if done right.

I'll get some pics up in the coming days. As I have never done a conversion before, I would appreciate your input.
This motor is to be driven by a 100 odd horse power diesel motor, not a wind turbine. I plan on using original stator windings if I can, and just chopping up the rotor and adding the right magnets. This is the bit where I need help.

Thanks in advance.

Flux

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: Hi every 1, planning a huuuuge motor conversion... Guidance sought.
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2011, 03:55:27 PM »
I have no idea what you are intending to use this for but certainly it can be done. There will be snags and as long as you can live with them you may be on a winner.

If you require a tight control of voltage or frequency there are some big issues. If it is stand alone your load requirements will decide if it is possible or not. If you intend to feed the grid then you have other issues to deal with.

It won't be a cheap project and it could be rather tricky dealing with the size and quantity of magnet needed, you will be dealing with forces needing careful management so there are safety issues to consider.