Author Topic: Running Numbers for a VAWT  (Read 7857 times)

silentblue1987

• Why post my pic when I have a video game double..
Running Numbers for a VAWT
« on: July 30, 2011, 09:25:22 PM »

Just running some numbers, feel free to pitch in.

Target Peak Wattage = 700

Target Voltage = 49.5
TSR of Lenz2 = .8
Cut in RPM = 80
Coil Count = 9
Magnet Count = 12 (pairs)
Turns Per Coil = 230

Now to figure out how big to make the blades.... Any ideas?

Warrior

Re: Running Numbers for a VAWT
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2011, 11:16:07 PM »
Hello Silentblue,

I'm no expert in wind energy, but I'd say you'll need a very large area to get 700 watts. That is a very ambitious output and you didn't mention at what wind speed you want to make that power.

HAWT have the advantage that the area varies to the square of the diameter. Where as a VAWT is simply height x width.

I'd say you'll need something 10 feet high by 8 feet wide. That's about equal to a 10 foot HAWT.

Take into account the VAWT has lower efficiency and running it close to the ground you won't get much power with a small area. It will also spin at low rpm so you will either need a huge alternator or a gearbox.

Good luck,

Warrior
Why can't Murphy's Law be used to my advantage?

silentblue1987

« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2011, 12:33:59 AM »
That's the thing about the way I'm building mine. I understand 700watt will almost never happen, i just keep that as a reference to hugh piggot's core design. I'm basing it from his 8' alternator but using 230 turns for low rpm. Cut-in rpm should be around 80 with 7mph on a Lenz2, max power might be achieved at 200 rpm or so (guessing 18mph). As for turbulent winds, I plan on mounting it to a 30' tower with no trees around and an average wind speed year round of 7.

I'm wondering though if there's  a way to find out what size blades a vawt would need to match his 8' blades albeit much lower rpm and much higher torque.