Author Topic: Dazzed and confussed  (Read 12462 times)

getvrtcl

• USMC 1976-1986
Dazzed and confussed
« on: October 05, 2011, 09:22:42 AM »
Hello to everyone.  As you can see I am new here and have been following a few things.  I have been collecting solar and wind components for about 6 years and storing them away until I was ready to make the move.  Well my last electric bill was $669.91 for 2 months.  I have had enough.  Now that bill is not the normal, but because of contractors repairing flood damage it was way up.  The normal is 350-370 and we are cutting back and conserving.  Due to a "retired" budget I have purchased items for years and have finally decided to put the system into working order.
I have the following so far:  Outback Flexmax 60 MPPT,  4-120 wt 12 vt Evergreen panels,  6-205 watt 24vt panels,  X-air 12vt turbine and tower,  8- 8146 6vt batteries (new)delivered this week, and a Xantrex prosine 2000-3000 inverter.

Here is what I think is my problem.  I am not sure I can integrate the 12 vt wind turbine with the 24vt solar array.  I have set up the Evergreens to give me 24vt and combined them with the other panels to give me 1719 watts @ 24vt.  The Outback with change that over to 12vt for the inverter but how can I tie the wind turbine into that?

I have many more questions but that is my problem  today, anyone have any input ?
Obama proves there is an ASS for every seat.

electrondady1

• SuperHero Member
Re: Dazzed and confussed
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2011, 09:30:36 AM »
i have no expertise in such things but there is a circuit called a "voltage doubler "

TomW

• Super Hero Member Plus
« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2011, 09:35:27 AM »
Conservation will hammer that high electric bill much faster and probably cheaper than making your own.

It is commonly accepted that it is far easier to save a watt than to make it.