Author Topic: Summer Project - Backyard Firepit  (Read 8644 times)

SparWeb

• Global Moderator
  • Super Hero Member Plus
    • Wind Turbine Project Field Notes
Summer Project - Backyard Firepit
« on: November 07, 2011, 01:36:33 AM »
(Since I'm not technically heating anything with this, except smores, I won't object to it being moved to the "Diaries".  But it's got FIRE in it, so I though I'd try!)

Here's a picture of this summer's back yard project:

Full size:  http://www.sparweb.ca/Diary/Stones/10_Fire_Pit_Lit_%28med%29.jpg

I built this pretty one to replace the ugly steel barrel that was there before.  I poured a concrete base first, then arrayed a ring of fire-bricks in a circle.  These ones are curved, to be placed in a ring.  I cemented them together and then built an outer wall of stones around that, which I think looks pretty nice. 

Here's a shot of the planning stages, where you can see the stones and bricks.  I hope you all notice that the final firepit has many flat smooth locations on top, suitable for resting beverages upon.  A crucial design element that I identified early in the design process.

Many of the stones were dug up when I trenched in a new electrical power line from the utility pole to the house, this spring.  Having all those stones is where I got the idea for the new fire pit.  Then I needed more stones to finish the job as I had planned it, which came from nearby farmers' fields.  It was a lot more work than I expected!
No one believes the theory except the one who developed it. Everyone believes the experiment except the one who ran it.
System spec: 135w BP multicrystalline panels, Xantrex C40, DIY 10ft (3m) diameter wind turbine, Tri-Star TS60, 800AH x 24V AGM Battery, Xantrex SW4024
www.sparweb.ca

klsmurf

• "Damn it Jim, I'm a carpenter, not an electrican"
Re: Summer Project - Backyard Firepit
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2011, 06:32:08 AM »