Author Topic: Actuators for solar tracking  (Read 2985 times)

klsmurf

• "Damn it Jim, I'm a carpenter, not an electrican"
Actuators for solar tracking
« on: November 12, 2011, 10:34:24 AM »
Hi All,   
Here's a pic of my latest freebie.
 " alt="" class="bbc_img" />
It took a little work getting the dish off and popping off the concrete, but well worth the price. I plan on making a rack, of coarse, and using it as a stationary mount for my panels.

In the future, I want to have it track on a single axis. I see no problem with this but, I have no knowledge of actuators. My set up is 12 volt and I've seen plenty of actuators but, I am not clear on the limit switch set up. Do I need one with built in switches? Should they be adjustable?
Any help would be much appreciated.           
Kevin
" A man's got to know his limitations " ------ Harry Callahan

Elby

Re: Actuators for solar tracking
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2011, 01:55:43 PM »
In the future, I want to have it track on a single axis. I see no problem with this but, I have no knowledge of actuators.

Consider leaving your options open here. It's really not much extra work to add the second axis later, especially if you plan for it now, or at least make sure you don't do something that will ham-string yourself later

My set up is 12 volt and I've seen plenty of actuators but, I am not clear on the limit switch set up. Do I need one with built in switches? Should they be adjustable?

Limit switches are not necessarily required, but some form of limits is. Otherwise when your mount runs out of travel it will just bind up and bend/break something.

Option 1. Use internal limit switches, internal limit switches should be adjustable. This is the easiest.