Author Topic: car alternator to wind pma generator, stator ? to 8 n48 magnets  (Read 32301 times)

chris

Can someone help me with my generator.
 I'm stuck at the stator winding. I have the 13 blade and hub Gen 4 raptor set from missouri wind and solar.. and my pma rotor dia is 4.475 with 8 n48 neodymium magnets. They are 1.in long x 1. In wide x. 75 thick on the rotor, and the are magnetized thru the. 75 . .. my question is how do I wind the stator for this. I know I need a 3phase ac star(  y)  configuration,  But I want the best output possible..I'm not sure on the rpm for the raptor blades yet . I do have an average  speed of 10 to 20 miles per hour .I just don't know how to wind the stator at all... I'm a newbie at this and this is my first try at this.. p.s. the stator is now empty of the original coils , that were .070 in thich...I need to know how many coils,  and if in series how do I do that. I could use a sketch or a diagram of how to wind the stator coils.  Does anybody know what the 13 blade  will give for rpm and what it maxes out at..   also I plan on using a grid tie inverter.  Do I need a 12 volt or a 24 volt system.
« Last Edit: April 30, 2012, 12:23:07 PM by chris »

Bruce S

• Administrator
  • Super Hero Member Plus
  • USA
Re: car alternator to wind pma generator, stator ? to 8 n48 magnets
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2012, 01:07:51 PM »
Chris;
The picture and your post. Is this the pre-cleared up ? Alt or ? .
I think from your posting it's now empty of the wires correct?
And did you really mean to say 13 blades?
Just kind of clearing up a few things.
What kind of range of output are you looking for?
For us to give you decent suggestions we need for you to make the decisions.
Why do you want to grid-tie?
I do have to warn you though, the MWS is NOT currently highly regarded as these units do not have a high output as of yet.

Bruce S
A kind word often goes unsaid BUT never goes unheard

chris

« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2012, 02:35:50 PM »