Author Topic: Light Wind Heavy Weight Turbine Project - as I build it.  (Read 170950 times)

klsmurf

• "Damn it Jim, I'm a carpenter, not an electrican"
Re: Light Wind Heavy Weight Turbine Project - as I build it.
« Reply #165 on: June 14, 2012, 01:42:12 PM »
This thread is as frustrating as trying to explain A Science Fiction Movie to my 82 year old mother  ??? who is now age 3 in her second childhood. She just can't get the concept and never attempts to learn on her own. Just endless questions to which the answers are ignored unless they fit what she wants to hear.  ;)

Thurmond

;D  I understand what you're saying! To me, It's like the car crash in the other lane. you just gotta look!

I'm still pretty new here, only a couple years, but it seems to me a whole bunch of reading should have been done before any of this was started.
 There's a lot of advice being suggested, but there may not be an understanding of Why?

Putting a working turbine on, and raising it on, a manufactured tower requires multiple engineering type disciplines.

I admire your tenacity, Steadfast, but I wish you would slow down, I fear your heading for another disaster.
" A man's got to know his limitations " ------ Harry Callahan

Mary B

• Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
« Reply #166 on: June 14, 2012, 02:33:32 PM »
3 sections of rohn 25, the tilt base plate would really be easiest and safer. typical guy wire thickness is 1/8th or 3/16 unless you are going really high. That is for the guy wires NOT the gin pole cable that is going to have a heavier load on it.

tanner0441

« Reply #167 on: June 14, 2012, 02:35:49 PM »
OK one step at a time... Your mast at the base is 4ins... Your ground pivot is 4ins high... unless you drill the mast very near the bottom and cut a tight radius on it you will not raise or lower it, because it will bind on your steel base plate. If you can picture that in your head and work out what you have to do to get round it you can move on.