Author Topic: Solar Charging  (Read 7722 times)

wildblue

Solar Charging
« on: June 13, 2012, 02:15:43 PM »
 I'm new to solar energy and trying to find out how much power I should be getting from my pv panels. I have 2, 255 watt, 5 amp, 48 volt panels wired in parallel to a bank of 8 12v batteries also wired 48 volt. My charge controller is a Xantrex C-40 and my inverter is a Xantrex XW6048. My first question is how much power can I expect from my panels on a sunny day. (Amps, watts.) My second is more complicated. My C-40 doesn't seem to be passing the full current of the panels through to the batteries when charging, but when I put a load on the inverter the C-40 passes the full amps to the load. For example my amp meter will read 2 amps on a sunny day when charging batteries but when I put a 400 watt load on the batteries the amp meter will rise to 6 amps. My batteries are not fully charged when I do this so shouldn't the C-40 pass the full current to the batteries until they exit the bulk stage of charging? I've read all the books that came with the equipment and can't find an explanation. Any help would be appreciated. :)

Watt

Re: Solar Charging
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2012, 07:09:04 PM »