Author Topic: Yard Art...YES. Battery Charger....we'll see.  (Read 7512 times)

lakesidepark

• locked in the suburbs
Yard Art...YES. Battery Charger....we'll see.
« on: July 08, 2012, 11:28:33 AM »
I have a wind project that I have been working on for several months now. The intention was to use this as a trickle charger along with some solar panels, to a battery bank for a shed and backup power source for a well tank booster pump. The well has a submersible pump, that I would power with genset to fill a tank,and use a pressure booster pump to the pressure tank / filters / house supply.

But those plans have been on hold. For almost two years now. Meanwhile, I didn't want to put up a HAWT...I can hear inspectors now with some wild fabricated complaint that I have a 100-ft tower knocking eagles and turkeys out of the air. This will happen and I want to be able to laugh the first time and point to the slow-turning sav. I wanted to build something I could test here and take there, and more akin to 'yard art'. And learn something along the way, for when I get there and planted and can put up a tower to get those good winds I know are up there.

The property is on a hill, with the NE and N sides dropping into a valley, and the S and W sides rolling into open flat land before it drops into a valley. If I stand at the high point of the hill, I can see the treeline tops that start at the edge of the valley. There is good winds at the ground level, it blows paths into the tall grass around buildings.

Well, I've built 'something', it definitely qualifies as yard art, but will it actually put out a battery charge? I'll share what I did, and take all the congrats and admiration...and / OR the flames and flying tomatoes.

I'll stay in 'safer' territory with the first post and cover the servos, the second will cover the tower, and the third will cover the sav. And none of this will represent cost-effective power generation. (that's what the solar panels are for).