Author Topic: recharging 24 volt battery bank  (Read 2976 times)

sammyadams

recharging 24 volt battery bank
« on: August 15, 2012, 01:01:52 PM »
I'm new to an off-grid cabin.  It has had a 12 volt battery bank made up of 3 12-v marine batteries in parallel which I am converting to a 24 volt system by adding 3 batteries in series to each of the existing batteries (the existing batteries are less than 1 yr old).
I'm in the process of getting a hydro system going

In the meantime, I will be using a honda 2000w generator to recharge the battery bank
the prior owner had a 12 volt charger hooked to the opposite ends of the bank
I was looking at the samlex SEC2415 24 volt charger.
In order to hook this up correctly, should I just use a positive and negative terminal on opposite ends of the bank?  Or (because this charger has room for 3 cables) should I hook up a cable to a positive in each of the 24 volt (2 12 volt) pairs?
Appreciate any input before I purchase the charger -

DamonHD

• Administrator
  • Super Hero Member Plus
    • Earth Notes
Re: recharging 24 volt battery bank
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2012, 01:39:15 PM »
I wouldn't mix different ages of batteries in series: that's a recipe for ruining some or all of them I suspect.

Rgds

Damon
Podcast: https://www.earth.org.uk/SECTION_podcast.html

@DamonHD@mastodon.social

sammyadams

« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2012, 02:28:52 PM »
I have read that but also read that if the batteries are relatively new that it should not pose much of a problem.

these are 8 months old and have been cycled probably around a dozen times.  Does anyone else have an opinion?

bob g

• 8.8kwatt idi diesel thermal conversion unit
    • microcogen.info
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2012, 02:53:23 PM »
don't mix them if you can help it at all

the reason being when they are paired in series to make 24volts one will likely be under the other battery in both charge and capacity, which makes getting the  two balanced sometimes a real pain.