Author Topic: Net Zero Energy In the City  (Read 7752 times)

gizmo23337

Net Zero Energy In the City
« on: November 21, 2012, 08:46:57 PM »
I'm new here, so I'll give a quick intro. I'm an electrical engineer of 10+ years, specializing in digital printed circuit board design, and DC/DC converters. I bought an older 50's house last year, which is in a rural residential area which is near an industrial park. I've had a year to watch electrical usage and am making some changes to move towards a balanced energy budget. My goals are tiered, and I'm not sure what I can achieve just yet within a limited budget. First goal is to lower power bill. Second goal is to eliminate or turn profit on power bill. Ultimate goal is to pay off both hydro and gas bill and break even or better.

First, I have a grid tied house, so living off grid and battery storage are not things that I need. I do not intend to have power in my house during power outages. In fact, with a new firehall across the street, we are out of power for maybe a couple hours a year in this location tops.

Phase 1 has already begun which is measuring and lowering our consumption within reason. When we moved in we had an oil furnace with an electric plenum heater. So far the heating has been switched to gas, and we intend to use the rebates to swap to a gas hot water tank and dryer over the next couple of months. I won't post the electrical numbers from last winter because they are quite embarrassing with electrical heat, but with the new gas furnace we are near 24kWh/day heading into November. I changed light bulbs to CFL, set up proper timers on computers for power management and will be installing a few key switches to help with parasitic power to entertainment and computer areas. With the additional hot water, dryer, bulb, and other minor changes, I'm guessing I can get our usage down to ~15 kWh/day. I am monitoring this, and this will continue into the spring before I move on to the next phase.