Author Topic: Newbie Q about volt regulation for PV direct?  (Read 6163 times)

Sam_NY

Newbie Q about volt regulation for PV direct?
« on: March 22, 2013, 12:40:41 PM »
I'm a novice and was hoping for advice on my first foray into solar--a very small-scale DIY solar pumping project.  This is my first post and I'm probably out of my depth, but here goes...

I have a little 12V/1.05A DC water pump.  I want to hook it to a solar panel so that it pumps water from a shallow well into an adjacent barrel.  I don't have a panel yet, but have noted that most "12V" panels actually put out more like 18V (as I understand it, optimized for charging 12V batteries).  I don't want to include a battery if possible, so I assume that if I get a panel that puts out 18V, I have to regulate it down to 12V, right?  Are there (inexpensive) devices that do this?

After some reading on voltage regulation and then some Googling, I found that "buck regulators for solar" are available on eBay and Amazon, etc, for a couple bucks.  Is this even the right gadget/approach? If so, let's say I buy a 20W/12V panel (that actually puts out 18V), how would I choose the right regulator?  Should I just be looking at "Vin" range and "Vout" range and Max output current?  Most have a potentiometer for adjusting output, so it makes sense, but I fear I'm missing something.

Lastly, I've read that with DC-DC switches, when stepping down, the Vin generally needs to be like 2V more than whatever your output voltage is, so for 12V out, you'd need the panel to produce 14V.  Can I assume that if the Vmp on a panel says 18V, that it'll stay above 14V for much of the day?

Any advice on any point is much appreciated.  If it's not abundantly clear from my post, please assume that I know just barely more than nothing about electronic circuitry.  Thanks!

DamonHD

• Administrator
  • Super Hero Member Plus
    • Earth Notes
Re: Newbie Q about volt regulation for PV direct?
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2013, 01:25:55 PM »