Author Topic: bad case of designers block!  (Read 2647 times)

XeonPony

• Global Moderator
  • Sanity is over rated!
bad case of designers block!
« on: March 31, 2013, 01:42:29 PM »
I am in the hard ware assembly stage of making a tracker, I have a 90 degree worm drive off one of those disability scooters, very powerful motor, but where I seem to be unable to pick a method of connecting it, and then how to do the final thrust berring for the azimuth support.

So can we get some pics of how you did the berring system for the mast rotor?

I am thinking chain will be the easiest way to couple the motor to the main suport shaft, and welding say 10 bike sprockets back to back will over some major safety factor and more then enough strength to handle any winds that get thrown at it

For the thrust berring one thought was use an old wheel hub but I am cuatious about that as it will be holding a few $k in panel!  so I need to see some images of how others have don it to draw some conclusions!

Thanks in advance! will post detailed pics of this project when don!
Ignorance is not bliss, You may not know there is a semie behind you but you'll still be a hood ornimant!

Nothing fails like prayer, Two hands clasped in work will achieve more in a minute then a billion will in a melenia in prayer. In other words go out and do some real good by helping!

Mary B

• Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
Re: bad case of designers block!
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2013, 04:18:10 PM »
for that low speed of a bearing pipe on pipe works fine.

XeonPony

• Global Moderator
  • Sanity is over rated!
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2013, 12:55:03 PM »
well I been using pvc as a wear bushing but the studs that it rides on there has been noticable wear, so I want to avoid that wear point, ironicaly the pvc wear bushing has don precious little wearing!
Ignorance is not bliss, You may not know there is a semie behind you but you'll still be a hood ornimant!