Author Topic: xantrex C40 charge controller whats the highest PV voltage they can take?  (Read 4335 times)

xboxman

Hi

am thinking about a xantrex c40 charge controller and was wondering what the highest voltage they can take from my PV ( i have 2  240 w helios solar panels the out put voltage seems to be around 30 volts  and someone told me that the xantrex c40  was mostly good for 12 volt systems ?
i am new at working with any thing over 12 volts so if you all need more info from my panels let me know

thanks

SparWeb

• Global Moderator
  • Super Hero Member Plus
    • Wind Turbine Project Field Notes
Please don't be offended, but rather than spoonfeed answers, this is easy to look up from Xantrex yourself - you just need the installation manual.  It's a free download from the website.  Finding it on the Xantrex/Schneider website might be a chore, but well worth it, if you are comparing different models.

I wouldn't be so prickly about it, but this forum is about "do it yourself" projects.

The answer is your panels are okay, by the way.
No one believes the theory except the one who developed it. Everyone believes the experiment except the one who ran it.
System spec: 135w BP multicrystalline panels, Xantrex C40, DIY 10ft (3m) diameter wind turbine, Tri-Star TS60, 800AH x 24V AGM Battery, Xantrex SW4024
www.sparweb.ca

RandomJoe

• Joe's Time-Waster
When do you measure this 30V?  Open circuit / nothing connected?  If that's the case it's likely a standard "12V" panel anyway, or perhaps slightly higher.  I did a quick search on Helios 240W and found some that show Vmp 20V which is...  Odd...  Most "12V" panels will have a Vmp around 17-17.5V, and a "24V" panel would have to have a Vmp up around 35V.