Author Topic: Learning Electronic Circuit Design  (Read 4753 times)

CraigM

Learning Electronic Circuit Design
« on: December 02, 2013, 08:02:39 PM »
Looking for advice and recommendations.

I'm interested in learning about electronics and circuits and would like to find a good self teaching course or something that is hands on and takes a “learn by doing” approach. I have a basic understanding of circuits and I've been rereading my old copy of Getting Started in Electronics by Forrest Mims but I have zero hands on experience building anything but the most simple of circuits.

I'd like to start with a breadboard and component assortment and follow a few simple project schematics to obtain a better understanding of what makes things work… or not work.

I also need to purchase a good soldering iron or solder station. Anyone with recommendations here please chime in. A big part of this would also include soldering practice.

Projects I'm interested in building: Ghurd controller, LED driver circuit, buck circuit and other circuits related to RE.

This is on a hobby/learning scale with intentions to build on the basics before moving on to larger RE projects. If you have pointers, suggestions or advice it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Everyone,
Craig
Brain engaged in Absorption Charge Mode... please wait, this may take awhile.

Frank S

• Home with a view of Double mountain
Re: Learning Electronic Circuit Design
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2013, 09:30:25 PM »
Back in the day Radio shack, Tandy electronics or the daddy of them all Heathkit. would have been the first choices by many.
 Radio shack  has recently reintroduced a back to basics approach to their product line with several  projects in kit form. Heathkit has returned as well with a couple of kits.
 If I were inclined to learn electronics I think I might start with a simple kit from radio shack in fact I was looking at a 200 in 1 project kit for one of my grand daughters a while back