Author Topic: Planning a new tower  (Read 4091 times)

SparWeb

• Global Moderator
  • Super Hero Member Plus
    • Wind Turbine Project Field Notes
Planning a new tower
« on: March 13, 2019, 12:55:11 AM »
This has been a long-term thing that I've picked at for years.  This year I may be ready to finally take the plunge.
I'm looking for suitable towers about 60 feet tall that can take a decent wind load.
I also want it to be a self-supporting tower so that I can get away from guy wires all over the place.

A few years ago I built a radio tower for my internet and TV antennas using a truss-tower, and I'm very pleased with how that one turned out.
I also discovered the benefits of using screw-pile anchors so I'm going with that, too.

I haven't done a stress analysis yet so I don't know where the weak spots are yet.
I'm just getting started by eye-balling the sizes of parts.  Mostly it's 6x3 inch HSS rectangular tubing with 5 inch OD tubing for the hinges.
Here are some screen-capture images from On-Shape where I've been drawing it up:

11708-0

11709-1

11710-2

[ Specified attachment is not available ]
No one believes the theory except the one who developed it. Everyone believes the experiment except the one who ran it.
System spec: 135w BP multicrystalline panels, Xantrex C40, DIY 10ft (3m) diameter wind turbine, Tri-Star TS60, 800AH x 24V AGM Battery, Xantrex SW4024
www.sparweb.ca

Adriaan Kragten

Re: Planning a new tower
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2019, 04:52:32 AM »