Author Topic: The first step for my shop  (Read 37663 times)

Frank S

• Home with a view of Double mountain
The first step for my shop
« on: November 30, 2018, 12:27:12 AM »
 There is no step like the first step when starting a construction project.
 I've been threatening to get started on my shop for the past 3 years .
 Working out of this is getting old plus when it is hot or cold or the wind is blowing or it is raining I am limited as to what I can get done.
 It is way better than nothing since if it is not raining too hard and the wind is not blowing too hard I can still work. it is much better as a shade from the hot sun than anything else
11543-0
 So since life on a farm always has more things that need doing than can get done I finally decided that if I just get 1 column standing I will be able to say that I am starting on my shop. So today this happened
 Of course first I had to pull some stumps that had been nagging me for a long time then remove a tree from a fence and remove the fence but those were not going to stop me from my goal. I removed a tire from an old 24.5" truck rim then welded it to the bottom of a 7" sch 80 pipe. the pipe was not long enough to suit me  since it was only 12 ft long I welded a 10 ft section to it then dug the hole with my backhoe . I went down 6 feet deep before I struck hard pan. now  my column is not long enough again I wanted 18 ft walls. I added another 4 ft to the pipe. then hefted it into the ground with my backhoe

11545-2
 I am not cementing these columns in the ground I prefer to have a large base on them  then back fill with dirt & clay tossing in a bag of portland every few layers adding water  and tamping
 Tomorrow I will try to get my whacker packer running It should run just fine since it only has about 30 minutes of run time since brand new. but I've had it for several years I hope I drained the gas out.
11546-3
 Now standing tall
11547-4