Author Topic: Hydro power for my workshop ??  (Read 3216 times)

Drg88

Hydro power for my workshop ??
« on: November 13, 2019, 06:16:38 PM »
Hey hey I have a workshop I'd love to take totally hydro powered.
I have a small wind turbine and its awsome but baught it made...

I have a demanding shed. 1500watts of power used 24/7 for my wood kiln and keeping my shop warm to avoid problems with my wood furniture I make.

Now I'm a welder and woodworker so I can make most builds just never touched electrics more then I had to..

I cant work out what motor would be best for my use. I've worked out a few but different sites tell me different things and so here I am...

1phase or 3 phase I cant work this out was told not to do 3phase but then I see the big boys at the old mills use them when i visited getting 6kw for his workshop lol.

I've done maths on ebay for weeks volt divide by rpm and x actual rpm x amp

So found a 3 phase ac 1400rpm with 415volt. That's on ebay 300quid. That's maths out at 0.26 1100watts kicking 500rpm delivering 142volt at 8amp

Am I correct in thinking if I got a 3000watt inverter to handle any extra rpm ofc.
This would deliver 2200watts to my workshop live off the inverter?
Any leftover charges batteries?

Treadmil.. now I got 2 motors. These range 50v to 280v 500rpm to 5krpm

234w 130v at 500rpm 1.8amp
1500watt 220v at 4600rpm 8amp

Amp x volt =watts or power

So what is a watt on a generator like I'd thaught tovlook for higher wattage not v x a x rpm

So the aim is 0.035volt min
And rule 5amp minimum.

To generate enough power..

Volt ÷rpm =power out.

220÷4600=0.047 and x500rpm (speed I get) 23.5volt x 0.8 efficiency 18.8volt

At 500rpm I get 18.8 volts
Power is v x a so 18.8x5amp = 150w?

Now why is there 2 volt... 220v then I do maths to work out 18.8 volt ?

The treadmill motors aren't powerful enough then only for concept tests...

So I'm working at confining my wheel in a tank I have and powering pumps to turn it...