Author Topic: Motorbike stator winding done wrong?  (Read 19690 times)

TechAdmin

Motorbike stator winding done wrong?
« on: February 21, 2021, 02:59:00 AM »
Hello! I'm gonna post here not as an admin but rather as a very very newbie user compared to everyone else, so please be gentle with me, I love electricity but I am not an expert in this particular area :)

So I had a stator (3 phases) for my motorbike that shorted. The stator is connected to a voltage regulator which is also a converter from AC to DC, which then connects to the battery.
I got a new voltage regulator on top of stator because I thought it was gone along with the stator (which was clearly burnt).
After I got this new voltage regulator and plugged everything correctly, the battery still wouldn't charge... I got the stator regenerated by someone rather than buying the original one, but I start to suspect it to be the real issue, since I sent the regulator back for testing and it tested fine.
The engine obviously works so the thingy powering the stator up works fine, along with the battery itself (tested 2 different ones).
I tested each phase of the stator and they were all giving very similar results both for resistance and voltage... Resistance was very low (0.4/0.5 Ohm), whereas voltage could reach over 60V/70V AC by revving the engine up (it's a 1000cc sportsbike rocket).
I also bypassed all the bike cables (straight from voltage regulator to battery) to avoid any chances of it being a dispersion somewhere else, so I am quite positive by now that it's the stator being faulty and repaired badly.
Do you guys have any ideas? Sorry if I am such a newbie once again ::) and thanks in advance for any input!

SparWeb

• Global Moderator
  • Super Hero Member Plus
    • Wind Turbine Project Field Notes
Re: Motorbike stator winding done wrong?
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2021, 06:14:22 PM »
Hi
A few questions before I can point to anything for sure.