Author Topic: Trying to make this wind turbine work with washing machine motors  (Read 1815 times)

gsw999

• kernelpower Ltd
So I have been trying to make a turbine from washing machine motors with limited success, it's designed for two rotors is nearly all recycled stuff, has a bit of a wobble , anyways my question is does anyone else run a turbine off one of these cheap $10 solar controllers , also has anyone had severe wobbles to try and sort out , I have made a video , any ideas how I can make it better, I am a novice but would like this to make some better power.

If the video is not allowed please delete the post

https://youtu.be/9sGn1NN4d4o

Thanks

Gavin

SparWeb

• Global Moderator
  • Super Hero Member Plus
    • Wind Turbine Project Field Notes
Re: Trying to make this wind turbine work with washing machine motors
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2021, 12:28:00 AM »
Videos are great, thank you for posting!

Wobbles worry me, do they worry you?

No one believes the theory except the one who developed it. Everyone believes the experiment except the one who ran it.
System spec: 135w BP multicrystalline panels, Xantrex C40, DIY 10ft (3m) diameter wind turbine, Tri-Star TS60, 800AH x 24V AGM Battery, Xantrex SW4024
www.sparweb.ca

Mary B

• Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2021, 01:07:34 PM »
Ouch that wobble will break welds, destroy towers... a tiny vibration you could live with, that is horrible! Is one blade a lot heavier? Out of round bearings the shaft runs on?

hiker

• BIG DOG
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2021, 01:48:41 AM »
Great to see a New Build..what’s with the wobble on the back gen,,..with it hanging on the very end of it all it has a lot of leverage to amplify the wobble,,balance out that back gen..just my observation
WILD in ALASKA

tanner0441

« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2021, 07:50:25 AM »
Hi

I didn't think solar controlers used a dump load, solar panels don't have isues running without a load when the battery is fully charged.