Author Topic: Hello everyone!  (Read 1333 times)

Top shelf

Hello everyone!
« on: November 14, 2021, 03:53:08 PM »
Hi, I thought it would be a good idea to introduce myself. I'm 46 , live in southern ontario, plumber by trade but also work for a large electrical company.
I supervise luxury built homes but have extensively done almost every facet of home building for the last 27 years( plumbing , electrical, hvac, bricklaying, concrete, roofing, framing, insulating , radiant heating, etc).
I recently have become very interested in energy efficiency and have upped my knowledge game by doing intense research which led me to this site.
After lurking in the background ,i found there to be many less confrontational issues in the general membership here , so i decided to register so i could help others as i learn more myself.
I am new to the RE scene and  since my decision to move 6 hours north of my present location, off grid, i will definitely need a solid knowledge base for that lifestyle.
I will be going with solar electric, solar water heating, passive ground source cooling and rainwater/ snow catchment for the water source if groundwater/ creek water is not available.

I have already drawn up my rough blueprints for my 6-700 sq.ft home and am currently upcycling building materials for my new home from the teardown jobs i do at my current workplace( I'm running out of space to store this stuff!)

There seems to be a very friendly community with MANY knowledgeable people and a great assortment of topics.

Thank you for having me aboard!!

bigrockcandymountain

Re: Hello everyone!
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2021, 06:00:46 PM »
Awesome to have you here.  I would love to see details on your super insulated building plans and off grid system.  It's more feasible than most people think and you are 10 steps ahead already having experience in building.

I'm in Saskatchewan and have a self built house and shop, both with 16" thick r60 walls etc.

SparWeb

• Global Moderator