Author Topic: Building the sickest® VAWT ever. Brilliant minds unite please!!  (Read 2072 times)

brandnewb

Building the sickest® VAWT ever. Brilliant minds unite please!!
« on: December 04, 2021, 06:01:38 AM »
After having seen many commercial turbines fail, under-perform and otherwise not life up to expectation I have decided it is time to put an end to this sad state of affairs.

I see no other option than to take it upon my self to DIY a VAWT and alternator that actually works i.e. that outputs an insane® amount of power at low (safe) rpm. I am aiming at 60-120 rpm.

I am a total newb, brand new even (hence my username), in the field as well as electronics so I would really appreciate if you lot can guide me along the way. Maybe even stop me from making huge mistakes.

It should go without saying that what will be discussed here is not without danger. Please all take self responsibility when tinkering with (large scale) power generators.

At the moment I am struggling with the alternator. I have planned a 3 phase system with 2 stator disks each having about 754meters of copper wire at 1mm confgured for 96 poles. the magnets are 60x10x5mm neodymium.

I am new to this forum software and do not yet know how to insert images. I'll be so blunt then to link to a topic that I started elsewhere
https:// diysolarforum (dot) com/threads/building-the-sickest-®-vawt-ever-brilliant-minds-unite-please.31934

We will be discussing airfoils and soldering and what not but please allow me to first ask should I use wood or steel for the disks?

bigrockcandymountain

Re: Building the sickest® VAWT ever. Brilliant minds unite please!!
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2021, 07:11:03 AM »
How will you do 2 stator disks? Will you have 3 magnet rotors with one in the middle double sided? You definitely want steel for the discs, to make a return path for the magnetic flux. 

5mm is a very thin magnet for an axial flux.