Author Topic: Wind for room heating, want to build a controller, maybe Arduino, PWM? ideas?  (Read 810 times)

kilohertz

Hi all, my first post here.

I have had my wind turbine up since 2008, it's an Asian 3KW HAWT and has performed very well into a grid tied inverter but after about 4 inverter failures I've had enough and just parked this with the brake on for the last few years. I have been thinking about using it to either heat my shop or the house basement, at least put some heat in there.

I have been playing with Arduino boards for the last 5 years or so and am ok at programming. This would be as complicated as I would like to make it.

I also thought just simple set point type dump load coming on at various voltages using comparator type op-amps or ?? driving relays or SSRs.

I have a number of different sized baseboard heaters from 300W-1.8KW and am planning to use those.

Anyway, I searched around here and haven't really found any applications dedicated to heating, I could only find "dump load" or inverter protection schemes.

I have several ideas for the Arduino, either set point switching of relays or SSRs or FETs to directly turn on the heaters in stages, or put enough heaters in parallel and PWM from one output into a big FET or IGBT or ??

My turbine rectifier is still functional and puts out a nice clean DC, and also has over voltage protection-internal dump load so my plan is to continue using it and work with the DC output.

So I would like to hear from any of you who have some experience in working with wind based heating and I'm open to any other ideas beyond what I have suggested. I am not too worried about MPPT right now but if it could be implemented, I would certainly entertain it.

Look forward to a nice discussion.

Cheers
« Last Edit: December 19, 2022, 07:37:06 PM by kilohertz »

DamonHD

• Administrator
  • Super Hero Member Plus
    • Earth Notes
Welcome, and thanks for the detailed intro and problem description!

Rgds

Damon