Author Topic: making a permanent magnet generator for a vawt  (Read 1956 times)

malofito

making a permanent magnet generator for a vawt
« on: December 20, 2022, 01:47:50 AM »
Hello don't mind the miniature generator prototype... I'm testing coils... First of all, I want to know if any of you know if the inner size of the coil in respect of the size of the magnets is fine or do I need to leave the whole magnet free of  wire in both sides for better output?
The next thing is, I found out something interesting, coil a is 250 turns of 22 gauge wire and 1/2 inch thick and interestingly it's barely produces 0.5 volts; while coil b is 150 turns of 22 gauge wire and is 1/4 inch thick and it produces 0.4 volts... Seems coil shape affects the output preferably having a less thick coil will require less turns for the same voltage.

Im a newbie in generator making and I want to know your opinions.

15105-015106-1

Adriaan Kragten

Re: making a permanent magnet generator for a vawt
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2022, 03:45:34 AM »