Author Topic: Is there any demand for selling a small, high quality turbine?  (Read 1276 times)

Jacobl1701

Hello All!

I'm a mechanical engineer with an ambition to start some kind of fabrication business. I think a good place to start would be selling a standard product, and I've been building wind turbines since I was a kid.

I've noticed that almost all of the smaller wind turbines for sale online are the same "cheap" plastic models. I'm wondering if there would be any demand for a quality turbine with a diameter in the range of 4-6 feet. I'm thinking something with an axial alternator, quality bearings, a furling mechanism, and wooden or extruded aluminum blades.

My other idea would be to sell carved wooden blades alone, as those seem to be nonexistent for sale.

I just want to get some outside perspective on whether something like this is worth doing.

mbouwer

Re: Is there any demand for selling a small, high quality turbine?
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2023, 04:17:22 PM »
Sounds good.
Can you tell us something about the wind turbines you have already built?

clockmanFRA

• Renewable Energy creation
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2023, 05:12:39 PM »
Hi,

Have a look at this guy. He has been doing wind turbines for well over 45 years now and he has perfected a simple , robust and a very cost effective design.

https://scoraigwind.co.uk/all-of-the-books-by-hugh-how-to-get-them/

He also does smaller designs

As an Engineer myself i cannot fault his work.  I have 3off his 12ft diameter design, and they have been up since 2008.

I have seen many wind turbines come and go, but in truth to get decent energy from a small wind turbine day after day is not easy. Yes, i still struggle with rain getting into the blades and making them out of balance so each needs a 2 yearly service and re-balance.

I  trust this helps.
Everything is possible, just give me time.

OzInverter man. Normandy France.
http://www.bryanhorology.com/renewable-energy-creation.php