Author Topic: Magnet Golden Rule  (Read 1298 times)

Yianie123.

Magnet Golden Rule
« on: October 30, 2023, 05:45:06 PM »
Hello everyone. Really glad your out there.  I am still shopping for magnets, and when I started learning about PMG, I was taught with 2" round by 1/2 high magnets.  I am noticing a lot of designs have 1"x2"x .5" magnets not matter how large the PMG or steel disk is.  Is there a rule to how large the magnets as well as the coil should be?

joestue

Re: Magnet Golden Rule
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2023, 07:12:57 PM »
This is like asking how many liters displacement i need an engine

With no regard to its intake efficiency, fuel, or its design rpm, or forced induction
My wife says I'm not just a different colored rubik's cube, i am a rubik's knot in a cage.

Yianie123.

« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2023, 11:37:32 PM »
There a corillations that I am looking for.  Things can be as complicated or as simple as you want them.  I know because I'm a degreed engineer.  Humanity has made some amazing things all without AutoCAD or even a computer.  Don't get caught up into the minutiae.

Adriaan Kragten

« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2023, 03:28:48 AM »
Yes, there are some simple rules. I assume that you want to design an axial flux generator with no iron in the coils. In chapter 9 of my public report KD 341 I give the optimum coil configuration for the 3-phase, 1-layer winding of an 8-pole generator. One basic rule is that the average pitch in between the left and the right leg of a coil must be the same as the pitch in between the heart of a north pole and the heart of a south pole. I have used rectangular magnets and trapezoid coils but you can also use circular magnets and circular coils. The advantage of using circular coils is that the flux variation in the wires is not as suddely as for rectangular magnets and the generated voltage in one phase is therefore more sinusoidal than for rectangular magnets.